Arkansas 4-H Alumni Association

Supporting Arkansas 4-H since 1982


  • Vonda Croker
  • Canaan Sandy

  • 2021
  • Creenna Bocksnick, Pulaski County
  • Frank Wilson

  • 2020
  • Amy Turner-Mersiovsky
  • Shea Wilson

  • 2019
  • Marc Harrison, Pulaski County
  • Kenny Simon, Pulaski County

  • 2018
  • Jim Baker, Faulkner County
  • Annette Martin, Conway County

  • 2017
  • Johnny Belew, White County
  • Suzie Davis Puckett, Faulkner County

  • 2016
  • J J Pitman
  • Judy Riley

  • 2015
  • Joan Coleman Hays, Washington County
  • Brian Helms, Pulaski County
  • Jerry Wooley, Faulkner County

  • 2014
  • Melissa Harrison Allen
  • Avonne Petty, Pike County

  • 2013
  • Steve Jones

  • 2012
  • Bob Blake, Pulaski County
  • Kimberly Bowen Yarbrough, Benton County

  • 2011
  • Kim Smith Harrison, White County
  • Pat Dodgen Schaefers, Faulkner County

  • 2010
  • Dorothy "Dot" Brents, Conway County
  • Ann M. Belden Wilson, Faulkner County

  • 2009
  • Dr. Darlene Z Baker Millard, Pulaski County

  • 2008
  • Joyce Smith Harlan, Craighead County
  • Judy Grabher Martin, Conway County

  • 2007
  • Robert Parish, Perry County

  • 2006
  • Mabel Coleman, Crawford County
  • Etta Louise "Weeji" Belden Niswonger, Faulkner County
  • Sharon Turner, Conway County

  • 2004
  • Sen. Jean Edwards
  • Sen. Stanley Russ, Faulkner County

  • 2003
  • Margaret Wheeler

  • 2000
  • LaVerne Feaster, Pulaski County
  • Harvey Gordon, Pulaski County

  • 1999
  • Mary Scott
  • Lloyd Westbrook, Faulkner County

  • 1998
  • Ettamarie Belden, Perry County
  • C. A. Vines, Pulaski County

  • 1995
  • H. L. Kennedy, Arkansas County
  • Nan Etta Harrell Snider, Craighead County

  • 1983
  • Raymond C. Cox, Washington County

  • 1973
  • Mary Juanita Jones Warren, Cleburne County
  • Joan "Jo" Coleman Hays

    Washington County

    Outstanding Arkansas 4-H Alumna, 2015

    Joan(Jo) Coleman Hays grew up in Mountainburg and was a member of the Locke 4-H Club in Crawford County where she served as reporter and historian. In 1954 she attended Arkansas 4-H Camp and ran for the office of State Reporter. She ran again ans was elected State 4-H Reporter in 1956. In 1957 she was the Arkansas Food Preservation Project winner and attended National 4-H Congress in Chicago.

    While attending the 1959 Washington D.C. National 4-H Conference, she attended the dedication of the National 4-H Center by President Dwight D. Eisenhower.

    While attending the University of Arkansas, where she earned a Bachelor of Science degree, Joan lived in the Girls 4-H House from 1959 to 1961. Upon graduation, sher taught vocational Home Economics in Lincoln, Arkansas, from 1961 to 1963. From 1963 to 1965 she worked with Washington County 4-H as Associate Home Economist.

    Joan served as president of the Arkansas 4-H Volunteer Leaders' Association and is a lifetime member of the Arkansas 4-H Alumni Association.

    Joan was married to LLoyd L Hays from 1961 to 2006. They owned and operated Trailwood Mobile Home park in Fayetteville. Their four children - David, Debbie, Danny, and Dannetta - were active active members of the Bethel Grove 4-H Club in Washington County. Two children each served as Northwest Arkansas 4-H Vice President and Arkansas 4-H President. David and Debbie were also State and National project winners, David in sheep and Debbie in Food Preservation. Dannetta was State winner in Arkansas Photography contest and also a State winner in the Ross Photography contest. David was selected as National Ambassador in 1985 as well as receiving the first Arkansas Governor's award. Debbie was awarded a week-long trip to Europe from an essay contest after National Congress. Debbie was an exchange student to Australia through the Arkansas Bicentennial program due in part to her 4-H activities. Joan was also the aunt of two other Arkansas 4-H Presidents.

    Alumni of the Year Nomination Process

    In order to nominate someone to be named an Outstanding 4-H Alumni of the year, please complete the nomination form (Form FY4H-133).