Arkansas 4-H Alumni Association

Supporting Arkansas 4-H since 1982


  • Vonda Croker
  • Canaan Sandy

  • 2021
  • Creenna Bocksnick, Pulaski County
  • Frank Wilson

  • 2020
  • Amy Turner-Mersiovsky
  • Shea Wilson

  • 2019
  • Marc Harrison, Pulaski County
  • Kenny Simon, Pulaski County

  • 2018
  • Jim Baker, Faulkner County
  • Annette Martin, Conway County

  • 2017
  • Johnny Belew, White County
  • Suzie Davis Puckett, Faulkner County

  • 2016
  • J J Pitman
  • Judy Riley

  • 2015
  • Joan Coleman Hays, Washington County
  • Brian Helms, Pulaski County
  • Jerry Wooley, Faulkner County

  • 2014
  • Melissa Harrison Allen
  • Avonne Petty, Pike County

  • 2013
  • Steve Jones

  • 2012
  • Bob Blake, Pulaski County
  • Kimberly Bowen Yarbrough, Benton County

  • 2011
  • Kim Smith Harrison, White County
  • Pat Dodgen Schaefers, Faulkner County

  • 2010
  • Dorothy "Dot" Brents, Conway County
  • Ann M. Belden Wilson, Faulkner County

  • 2009
  • Dr. Darlene Z Baker Millard, Pulaski County

  • 2008
  • Joyce Smith Harlan, Craighead County
  • Judy Grabher Martin, Conway County

  • 2007
  • Robert Parish, Perry County

  • 2006
  • Mabel Coleman, Crawford County
  • Etta Louise "Weeji" Belden Niswonger, Faulkner County
  • Sharon Turner, Conway County

  • 2004
  • Sen. Jean Edwards
  • Sen. Stanley Russ, Faulkner County

  • 2003
  • Margaret Wheeler

  • 2000
  • LaVerne Feaster, Pulaski County
  • Harvey Gordon, Pulaski County

  • 1999
  • Mary Scott
  • Lloyd Westbrook, Faulkner County

  • 1998
  • Ettamarie Belden, Perry County
  • C. A. Vines, Pulaski County

  • 1995
  • H. L. Kennedy, Arkansas County
  • Nan Etta Harrell Snider, Craighead County

  • 1983
  • Raymond C. Cox, Washington County

  • 1973
  • Mary Juanita Jones Warren, Cleburne County
  • Charles Austin Vines

    Pulaski County

    Outstanding Arkansas 4-H Alumnus, 1998

    Charles (C. A.) attended Arkansas Tech University at Russellville, and graduated from the University of Arkansas. During his 41 years with the University of Arkansas he served in many capacities, including county and district agent, assistant director, associate director, and Director of the Arkansas Cooperative Extension Service.

    His abilities were recognized by appointments to numerous state, national and international boards and committees. Among his many awards for distinguished service were Arkansas’ 1954 Man of the Year in Agriculture, the Superior Service Award in 1960 from the United States Department of Agriculture, and the Distinguished Service Ruby Award by Epsilon Sigma Phi, the National Honorary Extension Fraternity, in 1964. He was cited by the U of A as a Distinguished Alumnus in 1961 and in 1970 was inducted into the Hall of Distinction at Arkansas Tech.

    From 1976 until 2001 he served as Executive Director of the Arkansas 4-H Foundation, which exists for the purpose of providing resources for the 4-Hers and volunteer leaders in Arkansas.

    His primary accomplishment was to assist in planning and building the Arkansas 4-H educational center at Ferndale in central Arkansas named in his honor, the C. A. Vines Arkansas 4-H Center. In May of 1999 Mr. Vines initiated a grant proposal, which resulted in the Arkansas 4-H Foundation being awarded a 4.6 million dollar grant from the Donald W. Reynolds Foundation for new facilities at the C. A. Vines 4-H Center.

    He and his late wife, Joye, had two children, four grandchildren and one great grandchild.

    (September 16, 1907 - February 21, 2001)

    Alumni of the Year Nomination Process

    In order to nominate someone to be named an Outstanding 4-H Alumni of the year, please complete the nomination form (Form FY4H-133).